A Casual Affair

The Enth Degree.jpeg

 

A Casual Affair

~~~

When we first met I didn’t understand

The skip of my heartbeat

When you took my hand

Ain’t it grand

Two people meeting

Again and again

Lovers in bliss … a gift

Isn’t this what I’d wished

It was remiss of me to expect

Anything more

~~~

Through the rains of spring

Into the heat of summer

We’d meet and exchange plans

For a future you knew

Would never be

Unexpectedly I realized

 I had fallen in love

And when you saw it In my eyes

You pretended not to see

You turned and walked away

~~~

A casual affair is only good

Until it gets serious

I cry into my pillow from loneliness

For a lover who doesn’t want ties

There’s no compromise

You’ve said your good-byes

I cannot ask you to love me again

You said we’ll remain friends

You’re over me

But I am left holding on

~~~

I wonder if you ever think of me

From time to time

I can’t get you off my mind

Replaying each moment we lay entwined

Between sheets and thorns

Where my heart was laid bare

You really don’t care

You said we’re still friends

It was remiss of me to expect

Anything more

~~~

You told me you’d see me around

I can’t ask you to love me again

We’re no longer lovers

Just friends

~~~

Written by: Theresa H Hall

March 31, 2015 @ 4:29 PM

Copyright © 2015 “Sleeping Kitten – Dancing Dog!” All rights reserved.

6 thoughts on “A Casual Affair

  1. Beautifully written! Sincerely felt! We learn too late, there are no casual affairs. When we share deeply we have given a piece of ourselves. When rejected it seems an eternity until we are able to trust ourselves to share as deeply again. Thank you for sharing. I also like the painting..

Leave a Reply

