Operation Success – Holiday Baking

Gert's Mama's Pound Cake My Breakfast 12-22-14 Pecan Cinnamon Coffee CakeJust an update about my recent eye surgery and that everything went great. I can see what I’m doing without wearing glasses. HooRay! The left eye lens is a closer range than the right eye lens (which was replaced over nine years ago). Clear vision is a treat, an absolute treat. The distance and reading glasses I have can work, but when I return to the optometrist in about two and a-half weeks, he’ll let me know if I require a change. Then it’s on to renewing my driver’s license and lots of new projects. My blood pressure is normal, my blood-work is normal and now that I can see straight (ha) I am no longer dizzy. Fantastic!

Today we got up very early. I’m hoping we can keep this earlier schedule and sleep when it is dark outside rather than light. It will be a good change. Plus, bakers begin early morning and it feels right getting up before sunrise. It’s the time when the world is nice and quiet.

I baked a favorite “Gert’s Mama’s Pound Cake” (the perfect recipe), I borrowed my friend Buck Bannister at Sugar Pies. He is such an accomplished baker. Next I made “Cinnamon Pecan Coffee Cake”. One is for us and one for Joe’s office. He’ll take along the big cake as well which should drum up lots of holiday cheer.

For breakfast I sautéed onions, red pepper slices and tossed in handfuls of fresh spinach, to accompany my fried eggs. Joe likes his scrambled with cheese and that’s what he was served. Later today I’m planning out the next few days of whirlwind baking: breads, cheesecakes, pound cakes, cookies, bars, mini-fruit tarts and mini-fruit pies. Perhaps between now and the New Year … a chocolate soufflé, then a cheese soufflé, brandied cherries and cream cheese on puff pastry, and in honor of my Chef Mark @ LAC, an “Apple Tart Normand“. I’ve been toying with the idea of serving “Seafood Newburg” over puff pastry shells and baking one of my “Onion, Potato and Gruyere Cheese Galettes“. The Holidays are a collection of special days when cooking, baking, sharing time together and decorations bring The Winter Wonderland into our hearts to make new memories. Happy Holidays … Tis The Season!

Copyright © 2014 “Sleeping Kitten – Dancing Dog!” All rights reserved.

About Theresa H Hall

As a professional vocalist. licensed broadcaster, artist, published poet, lyricist, writer, essayist, critic, animal lover and budding pastr View all posts by Theresa H Hall

3 responses to “Operation Success – Holiday Baking

  • Theresa D.

    Yum! Thanks for directing me to this blog!

  • jerseylil

    So glad your eye surgery went well, Theresa! Clear vision is a treat, you are so right. I wish I didn’t have to wear glasses all the time and even with them, I sometimes take off my glasses to see tiny print because I can focus better that way. Wow, that baking of yours looks so delicious!!! Sounds like you made a great breakfast too. Happy Holidays! 🙂

  • anfinsenart

    I’m drooling! Not only do your cakes look yummy, they are perfectly beautiful! Keep up the good work and please share that Seafood Newburg.

Leave a Reply

