Step Into My Tuesday

"What I am reading and listening to today"

“What I am reading and listening to today”

Tomorrow marks the 50th anniversary of Dr. Martin Luther King’s speech, “I Have A Dream”. Washington is all atwitter with writers comparing America then to America now. It is significant. Every year we commemorate those tens of thousands of brave American citizens who took a stand. They brought about crucial historical change. Our parents sat us before the television set to watch, listen and learn. This profound speech has been televised many times, resulting in intertwining memories of when I first heard it. I was a rambunctious youngster who was usually found playing outdoors, riding my bicycle or swimming. Always an empathetic child, I cannot help but remember cringing during the newscasts in the days leading up to this speech. Nightly reports of crowds, protests, policemen swinging billy clubs, others holding aggressively barking dogs and wielding fire hoses. These frightening images linger in my memories of those childhood days. Tomorrow will be  momentous.

sunnuside up 4 sunnuside up 3 sunnuside up 2 sunnuside up 1On a lighter note, for the first time ever, I nursed along two eggs in order to cook them sunny side up. Even though they look correct, I did find just the tiniest part (on the edges of both yolks), that were not finished. Needless to say, I did not eat this 1/32 tsp. of egg white. It took me the better part of ten minutes to cook them, not wanting the edges to be crispy, nor the underside of the yolks to turn into a thickened, opaque yellow, likened to hard-boiled.

There is a lot of magic in my little realm. sunnuside up 5 sunnuside up 6When I’m at work at the stove, I think of it as “My Kitchen Ballet”, a name I decided upon for my first cookbook which I am working on. Preparation for today’s popular breakfast was tedious. I thought it wasted my time even though I’m usually patient when making complicated recipes. Breakfast eggs shouldn’t take this much care or time to prepare, but they did deliver on flavor. The eggs had a meaty texture accompanied by their rich golden sauce. The green avocado harmonized beautifully providing balance. Its coolness and texture were great with the warmth of the eggs. Maybe I will see if I can speed up the cook time to produce it better and faster.

This brings me to the zen music filling the room. I recently discovered the melodic and rich voice belonging to Gregory Porter, whilst listening to a station on my television. Melody, surprised me with his CD for my birthday. (What a thoughtful sister!) The title is “Be Good”, and what made me want it in the first place is the cut, “On My Way To Harlem”. I’ve listened to the entire CD about fifteen times to learn his style. It melds with my mood and deep-seated love of New York City, filled with romantic nighttime aura … bringing city lights and rainy nights into view. I’m transported back to the music I grew up listening to from the time I was a tiny girl. This artist has smoothness and depth that calls to me. I cannot wait to get his new release. A week ago, I read that he signed with a major label this past May.  I know we’d sound great together!

Copyright © 2013 “Sleeping Kitten – Dancing Dog!” All rights reserved.

About Theresa H Hall

As a professional vocalist. licensed broadcaster, artist, published poet, lyricist, writer, essayist, critic, animal lover and budding pastr View all posts by Theresa H Hall

2 responses to “Step Into My Tuesday

  • Janene

    I’m trying to think where I was the first time I heard MLK, Jr.’s speech. I can’t remember, though I can remember the feeling I had. I was too young to understand the full scope of what racism was about, his words drew me in. The world seems a much better place than it was then though, sadly, we still have a ways to go.

    P.S. Love them eggs! 🙂

    • Theresa H Hall

      Janene,

      We must demand the return all of art programs into communities and schools. We should step up to continuously guide young people into believing, that by reaching inward and developing the gifts they were born to grow, they will discover the world we were meant to share.

      Thanks. Maybe one day we will share breakfast. When is you next book to be written?

Leave a Reply

