When A Lady Sings The Blues

I’m one of those vocalists who loves a good torch song and today the song, “Good Morning Heartache” runs through my head. Outside it is bright and the birds are singing. Jazz music is playing, our kitties are fed and content. I’m getting ready to make breakfast for me and Joe. For some reason I’m obliged to sing this song in my mind. I virtually run through the nuances and heart-throbbing musical changes, enjoying specific, dedicated moments of poignancy. Wow … this sax player is right in my ear and his quartet is right there with him. Inside (being myself an instrument), I’m moving to the beat and my musical center soars. I’m a lady of song and always have been. Alert … she’s ready to burst into song … to express herself.

“There was a lot of fun to be had! Hard work because it is all physical labor, 

but as I look back, I admit that while there were many triumphant moments,

there were few true instances of sheer joy.” 

There was a time when I sang constantly and for two decades, I belted out tune after tune, with the rhythm section pounding behind and beside me. There was a lot of fun to be had! Hard work because it is all physical labor, but as I look back I admit that while there were many triumphant moments, there were few true instances of sheer joy. (The song has changed) I listen as the bassist walks the strings of his standup, and sweet harmonic guitar strings are being plied with experienced fingers, both of them sharing their talents. This drummer has sensitivity and great timing. All of these musicians I am listening to, spent hours and hours, years, learning their instruments. I, too, did the same. I practiced for years, hours on end from the age of seven, when I closeted myself in my Parents bedroom and played Johnny Mathis records, leaving the ‘Mark of Zita’ across the surfaces. When one attends a function or a nightclub, most people don’t consider the blood and sweat that is poured into the performance. All those rehearsals! Um … pardon me while I listen to the sweetness of the saxophone. The piano sounds crystal clear and this percussion instrument is being played with such grace. These songs move my sensibilities and lately and I have found myself singing out loud just for the sheer pleasure of hearing the sound of my own voice.

Gee, that sounded pompous, but rest assured that is not my intention, nor am I this way in truth. You stopped by and this blog supports the quirks of my personality and little private moments of my life. I thank God and acknowledge the gifts He bestowed upon me. In order to cure this growing need, I have begun shopping original music for my debut CD,  I’ll record and most likely release next summer. Truthfully I don’t want to go on the road … I travelled for years, but certainly I might do a few private concerts. I’m past the age of wanting to show-off and I am not about to compete with a band of musicians to see who can be the loudest. That can be disheartening and I don’t have that kind of stamina in me anymore, but I do have the desire and the passion to get this thing done. It takes a lot of courage for me to step out of my comfort zone (I’m a bit bashful) to share these private matters with whomever might be reading (I appreciate you all), but sometimes this lady must sing the blues, or whatever else moves her.

Most of us are well acquainted with the rendition of the hit song from the movie, “Lady Sings The Blues Soundtrack”, but this 2009 live performance by Diana Ross, is equally good, if not better than her original recording. You decide. Good Morning Heartache 

About Theresa H Hall

As a professional vocalist. licensed broadcaster, artist, published poet, lyricist, writer, essayist, critic, animal lover and budding pastr View all posts by Theresa H Hall

Leave a Reply

