Magically Chocolate

“Featured in this photograph is Paris Brest with a rich chocolate sauce, chocolate tart and chocolate macaroons. The ideas for chocolate are endless.”

There are certain days that I will not be satisfied until I have eaten chocolate. I’ve heard it gives the sensors in the brain a similar feeling of being in love. That is satisfying! I cannot be alone in this desire for chocolate that entices me when he beckons. Chocolate must be a male because it’s tall, grown on trees. Dark, the cocoa bean is deepest brown. And handsome … well, I’ll call any chocolate dessert or truffle that. Its delicious scent and flavor are other factors to consider. Sadly, all chocolate products are not the same. The ratios of cocoa bean, to oils and fats (that’s a gigantic story) but they are relevant to the finished product. The processing plus the quality of the ingredients makes for the taste you saver (if it is good), versus the inferior which leaves an unpleasant aftertaste in your mouth. I have only gone to that place as a child, back when I was mad for candy, or if I had chocolate cravings and had no other choice but to use the cheap variety. I do try to avoid being in this position.

Brownies are my favorite. Mousse is second and third, a rich chocolate syrup for my milk. The kid will never leave me and yes, I still pour spoonfuls of the chocolate milk into my mouth. This actually drove my late Father a little crazy, leaving him short-tempered by the persistent clanking of my spoon against the sides of the glass. I am ever so careful not to clank now that I am grown and enjoy my glassful using my learned techniques and dainty maneuvers.

I rather enjoy watching videos about the growing of chocolate, the harvesting and shipment to the factories, where it will undergo the transformation to become splendid things. A vacation to a chocolate factory would indeed be something I would love to do. I really should book myself one of these excursions and later explore the endless possibilities of this desirable food. There is a candy shop downtown in my city and I am going to phone them to see if I might pop-in soon and make truffles with them … just for the fun of it. I miss the professional kitchen.

History: This pastry was created in 1891 to commemorate the Paris–Brest–Paris bicycle race.

Made from two large, double rings of piped choux paste, with sliced almonds on top. It is baked and after about thirty minutes, the temperature of the oven is lowered to about 250 degrees in order to gently dry the inside of the pastry, completing the baking process. It is then cooled completely on a wire rack. Carefully sliced in-half, it is filled with decoratively piped hazelnut and praline pastry cream. The top is replaced and 10X sugar is sprinkled over the whole dessert. A rich ganache-based chocolate sauce is traditionally served in a compote, which is placed into the center of the ring. If you wish to impress at your next dinner party, bake this.

4 thoughts on “Magically Chocolate

  1. No, you’re definitely not alone. I too cannot resist chocolate when it calls to me, and I don’t try to hold back at all. xD Also that pastry looks absolutely delicious! I’ve always loved praline cream!

    • Thank you for stopping by Zen. This dessert is very achievable and scrumptious. It can also be made with a variety of flavored pastry creams and also other nuts can be used in place of the blanched almond slices. I have seen many photographs of this dessert and the most prevalent things I noticed was that many people do not bake their pastry long enough and it had no real color on top, or the inside was not dried properly, leaving a pasty or gummy appearance.

Leave a Reply

