In The Groove – My Self-Revolution

I am downstairs savoring my second cup of coffee (normally I only partake of one) doing some research for an article I am writing. I will publish a very cool interview with an forward-thinking Australian Author this Monday, on BlogCatalog. Presently, I can hear three different jazz songs being played at the same time. I have Comcast Channel 436 Jazz playing on the little television in my kitchen window, the iTunes on my iMac is playing John Coltrane “Giant Steps” w/Joe scatting along, while Joe is mixing-down our vocals on one of his tunes in his upstairs studio. The fan that blows cool air at the back of the computer is whirling. I’m keeping the beat with the tap-tap-tap of my keyboard. My head is appreciating all of the musical nuances as I easily follow along with everything being sent my way. At the same time I’m thinking about a part of a song I need to master before recording it. I’m also waiting for Lillian (our ‘tortie’ cat) to come and brush gently against my legs. She is ultra bunny rabbit-fur soft and so timid, even after all these years. It’s unconditional love we share.

Once I have had my coffee my mind goes a mile a minute. Even though I wake-up feeling dazed from deep slumber and convoluted, sometimes exhausting dreams; a bit like Mr. Magoo … whilst I stumble out from the covers wrapped about my person. I heard the weatherman say the day will be cooler and yes, the other television is on as well. My eyes land upon one of my paintings (mine because I own it) and my fingers itch to take up my paint brushes. We have a tiny designated spot for my art table and while the easels are still locked away, I want to begin painting outside on the deck, once the weather is in the seventies. I no longer care for the heat and humidity, much preferring the air-conditioning. Alas, painting inside the townhouse means my felines will want to help me. Aren’t they sweet?

This afternoon Sirius/XM Radio Host Willie Jolley‘s interview with The Blackbyrds will air. Keith and Orville are in the photo with Willie in the center. Joe called in for this spot so he isn’t in the shot. It will air again two other times and the show is on HUR Station, The Willie Jolley Wealthy Ways Show. I can’t wait to hear it. Talk about a power house of talent brought together.

I’m taking time out to sing along with Corrine Bailey Rae … “Seasons Change”. I enjoyed that so much I’m gonna sing it again. I have been exercising my vocal chords because I promised myself to record my own CD by the end of the year. I’m coming out of hiding folks! I’m going to sing, write, promote, socialize, draw, paint, cook and write for what I believe in. Teesa Zita Theresa is emerging from her self-imposed cocoon. And for those of you who really know me, you understand that I’m serious.

Here’s to you to enjoy your weekend and please do stop back Monday morning for the link to my latest interview.

About Theresa H Hall

As a professional vocalist. licensed broadcaster, artist, published poet, lyricist, writer, essayist, critic, animal lover and budding pastr View all posts by Theresa H Hall

2 responses to “In The Groove – My Self-Revolution

Leave a Reply

