Give Me That Jazz

 

Give me the rain-dampened

New York streets

Any time of the day

But especially by night

And add in the sounds

Of jazz that have echoed within

My heart ever since

My Daddy played those records

That must be the reason

I am listening

Right now to the avant-garde notes

Played by artistic fingers

Stroking their instruments into

Melodic bliss

I cannot wait to explore today

As I will fill the airwaves with

These symbolic strings of my heart

And I will be in my New York

Frame of mind

Theresa H Hall

@ 4:37 AM

4 thoughts on “Give Me That Jazz

  1. Take that, Billy Joel! But seriously, Theresa, great poem! You got the mood and the spirit of the Big Apple beautifully. I love it!

Leave a Reply

