Love Can Crack Your Heart

Sad to say that this afternoon, Joe and I helped our finest kitty in the entire world, Bobby, go to the Rainbow Bridge. Being a responsible pet Mommy and Daddy brings with it the hard choices that are inevitable when a pet is injured, ailing, sick or aging rapidly. A decline of any type can torment the furry family member and make cracks in the hearts of their human parents. We didn’t want to let go of Bobby but it was in his best interests to take him to the vet and get her to tenderly administer the logical medications, so he would not feel bad anymore.

This morning while I was upstairs, Bobby eeked out “Come here” … “Come here” and boy, did I ever get down those stairs but fast! He was asking me to turn on the water faucet and once I did, he stepped into the sink and put his head right under the running water. He could not figure out how to get the water into his mouth. I gave him a fresh bowl of filtered water and he stood, head bent and considered how to drink. He did not eat his food but licked the liquid or gravy. I tried different choices of his favorite foods and only got passable nods before he shunned the colorful bowls, which remained almost untouched.

Bobby loved me to sing “I Want To Be Bobby’s Girl” and to coo into his ear “Mommy and Daddy love you Bobby”. Joe and I gave him plenty of kisses and pets and we both got to hold him when the last moments came. He was such a brave little boy, too. Little Whaanah didn’t fight … but slid into the great unknown to be greeted by all of our loved ones who have gone before us. Bobby also wanted me to give Daisy The Curly Cat a big kiss because he adored her till the very end.

Bobby Hall 

July 6, 1997 to June 22, 2012  

The Best Kitty EVER!

About Theresa H Hall

As a professional vocalist. licensed broadcaster, artist, published poet, lyricist, writer, essayist, critic, animal lover and budding pastr View all posts by Theresa H Hall

13 responses to “Love Can Crack Your Heart

  • AngieAlaniz

    That’s so sad 😦
    I’m sorry for your loss.

  • Daisy the Curly Cat

    Oh no. I am so sorry that Bobby had to go to the Rainbow Bridge. What a wonderful kitty he was! When it is my time to go to the Bridge, I will surely meet Bobby there.

    “… what we have enjoyed, we can never lose … all that we love deeply becomes a part of us.” ~ Helen Keller

    Rest in peace, Bobby. You were a Very Good Boy

    • Theresa H Hall

      Oh, Little Daisy! Bobby loved to sit at the computer and admire you in all of your finery. Your little movies were always enjoyed and he really did love you and Little Harley. Hopefully it will be a very long time before you go and meet him. Love, Auntie Teesa & Uncle Joe

  • Melody J Haislip

    Theresa, and Joe, my heart simply aches for you. I will miss Bobby, too. He and I always had such lovely phone conversations. I’m so sorry. I Know how hard this was for you, but I’m glad for Bobby’s sake that you did the kind and loving thing. Prayers for all. Love you!

    • Theresa H Hall

      We all love you Melody! Bobby surely did love talking to you on the phone and even though he didn’t say anything yesterday, he understood everything you said, and loved those last kisses and murmured words of affection. Thank you for your thoughtfulness and the love you showed to our little boy. Bobby touched many, many humans and the other kitties loved him as well.

  • Frank Brinkman

    i send thoughts of empathy to you and Joe. May your love of Bobby Hall carry you past your grief into the memories of the good times and happenings,

    • Theresa H Hall

      Dear Frank, Thank you for your kind words. Bobby … whenever we think of him we are glad he is free and thinking of us. I can feel the love he is sending. When I die I will have so many loved ones to greet me that I shan’t be frightened. There’s a lot of love waiting for us and finally, I can face a future in body and in spirit as being equally beautiful.

  • Janey Baskin

    I am so sorry. I am a pet mom too and always wonder why they can’t just live as long as we do. Know that Bobby’s at the bridge waiting for you, and remember him in life: “Do not weep, but laugh and talk of me as if I were here beside you. I loved you so. It was heaven here with you.”

    • Theresa H Hall

      Janey, I know you are a pet lover, too. Your words offer us hope for the time when we will be reunited with Bobby and our other loved ones. Thank you for taking the time to say. Hugs!!

  • Janey Baskin

    Theresa, I am so sorry. I am a pet mom also, and am still trying to figure out why they can’t live as long as we do. Our pets are members of our families. Know that Bobby’s at the bridge, waiting for you; and remember him in life: “Do not weep, but laugh and talk of me as if I were here beside you; I loved you so; ’twas heaven here with you.”

  • A Walk In The Dark

    Oh! my dear Sweet T! I know how you feel, you will take time to heal …but then again we never do…and on the other hand they have never left….all my my love to you ……

Leave a Reply

