Don’t Drink The Water

I was just about to fill up the Brita water filter when I noticed the water was yucky! Yellowish-brown. I ran the all of the faucets in the place for at least fifteen minutes and then telephoned the water company. WSSC (Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission) is the water distributor in the Washington, D.C. area. I spoke with a nice fellow by the name of Ronnie and he assured me he would have someone come out and flush the line. I asked how long the wait would be and he said two hours. He provided me with good customer service.

It only took 50 minutes and the WSSC man tapped on my door. We communicated through the closed-door and he said he had flushed the fire hydrant line and did not see any discoloration. He went on to say that he noticed a truck outside testing the sprinkler system. I did not realize we had any sprinklers. I also asked about the strong chemical odors I had smelled earlier, just prior to the water turning strange. He replied it was chlorine and it wasn’t harmful. Really? I will run the water until it is clear and odor-free, and I will continue to filter my water before I drink.

About Theresa H Hall

As a professional vocalist. licensed broadcaster, artist, published poet, lyricist, writer, essayist, critic, animal lover and budding pastr View all posts by Theresa H Hall

4 responses to “Don’t Drink The Water

  • janene

    Shudder! The older I get, the more I read,and the more we pollute the world has got me more concerned about our water supply Chlorine is okay? In a minute quantity it might not be too bad. They may need it to kill off harmful bacteria, but you can smell it? Sounds like WAY too much to me. You’re smart to filter!

    • Theresa H Hall

      Sometimes I wonder what is going on. There is a waste treatment plant in or near Frederick, MD, along with Ft. Detrick, MD, whom many have claimed have gotten cancer from their experiments and pollution. I hold fast to the truth that I have a trusty nose and am especially vigilant about the waters, and all foods I use in preparing meals for my family.

      I began noticing a strange chemical odor when we lived in the Bowie, MD area. Sometimes like the earth, dirt, or grass … it was quite strange. Shortly afterward, I began using the filter because the only other way I would drink tap water would be to boil it.

      When we were kids we could drink from a creek or a steam and never be concerned. It tasted pure and clean. I’m starting to think about that futuristic movie Charlton Heston played the lead role in, “Soylent Green”. If you haven’t seen it, I think you should. It is as depressing as the movie “1984”, but worse.

      The bees have been gone (as well as), for almost four years now, and Albert Einstein said after the bees disappear, we will have about four years left. How did he come up with this and could it be true????

  • Metropolitan - Ladys

    Its like you learn my thoughts! You seem to know a lot about this, such as you wrote the e book in it or something. I feel that you could do with some percent to pressure the message house a little bit, however instead of that, that is great blog. A great read. I’ll definitely be back.

  • Melody J Haislip

    When we visited Las Vegas recently, I noticed their water smelled and tasted pretty rank. I couldn’t believe the difference when I got home, where one of the first things I did was drink a glass of crystal clear, delicious water! Of course, we have Hanford, WA right up the road, but, hey, who wants to live forever? 😛

Leave a Reply

