Movie Review … The Help

We went to see a fabulous film tonight after dinner … not the norm … but we deserved time relaxing and distracting our minds from recent events. But I digress … back to this movie.

It surely grabbed my attention, taught me quite a number of facts and showed me a different perspective than the one I had stored away inside my head. You know, you perceive a thing a particular way and then find out that what you knew was just the frosting on the cake? Well this movie gave that side of things. It was well written and it was told with grace, honesty, integrity, and an intensity of feeling we clearly did not expect. The coming attractions rope in their audience with the lighter issues and laughter. It has a good amount of that as well, but it was true gripping drama, told by women, for women. The actresses gave stunning performances and it is the kind of story that will remain with me for some time.

We both gave “The Help” Two Thumbs Up and an A+. This might start off as a sleeper, but mark my words, it’s going to be nominated for many awards. I want to read the novel.

** Note: I didn’t want to give anything away so if you’re like me and want to see it without bias, then I suggest not clicking the link. 

One thought on “Movie Review … The Help

  1. It checked out this book and it seemed really intriguing and interesting. I think I’ll give it a shot, when I’m finished with “The Lacuna” by B. Kingsolver. Thanks for the tip! 🙂

Leave a Reply

