Making My Own Footprints

Today I begin year number five as a Blogger. On April 11, 2007, I was searching the Internet for ways to earn a living from home. After years of employment in the Credit, Accounting and Administrative fields, and also being self-employed in the Entertainment Industry, I decided to follow a dream and attend French Culinary School, for Pastry Arts. I did and then worked in a large fast-paced pastry kitchen, at a major hotel, in Washington, DC. By the time I approached the two-year mark at the hotel, I was exhausted after working back-to-back shifts, daily heavy lifting and proving to myself that I could “hang” do it. I decided to find other ways to put my culinary degree, work background and performance abilities to work for me. I wanted to be the one who decided how much and when. I was again to be the master of my destiny.

I searched the web and found that I could do surveys for free gifts. Let me say here that this is a particular thorn in my side, when I think about how much money it cost me to do these surveys and how much I had to pay out, in order to qualify. I shan’t do that again. But had I not experienced this, I might not have found blogging. “What in the world is a blog?” I asked out loud to no one in particular. I found that I could set up a blog and write about whatever I wanted, and I could also make money doing it. Let’s just say that you must crawl before you walk.   

After about a month, I had learned more than I ever suspected there was to learn. Yet, I hadn’t even iced the sides of the cake, so to speak. I had barely touched upon the subject of social media, links, copy and pasting, browsers, SEO and the like. I was a babe in the woods. I was a child in kindergarten. I was in the playground sitting in the sandbox … without a shovel. The next year was chock full of tidbits, suggestions, hand-holding and some rather kind individuals who, from time-to-time, would show me the faster and easier way to be independent in this arena. I am still grateful for their help. You all know who you are. Hugs!

After I absorbed the inner-workings of this and that, I began to explore new ways to hook-up, communicate, join in and begin to impress my readers. It is exciting to meet people from around the world who, like me, wanted to reach beyond the limitations of the environment to link into a community hungry for newbies and creative juices. As long as we kept them coming and flowing, we were an asset to these venues. Some were good, while others were better. Some were oh, so much better! On April 17, 2007, my blog was accepted to a place called BlogCatalog. Out of my three-month experience with a blog-hosting site, which generated more Asian spam than anyone could ever wish to receive, I have to say that I count myself fortunate to have found BC through them. So thank you blogtoolkit … you did do something right.

Four years later, I AM a Social Diva. I glide through cyber space with the ease of an Italian gentleman driving a Ferrari. Years of traversing the web have given me a balance and equal footing wherever I land. I write, I paint, I create, I cook, I bake, I teach, I conduct interviews, I give advice, I comment, I have and share my opinions and sometimes I bite my tongue. It’s a crazy thing to do that, but I recall a saying that goes something like this: “Keep your words soft and sweet … some day you might have to eat them”. Good motto to include when writing.

The advice I will leave with you is this. Have fun in cyber space … but never at the expense of others. Leave your mark in the world but be careful not to make a dent. “Give it the light touch”, as Catherine Ponder would say. Expand, create, converse and follow in others’ footsteps while you learn … but in the end make your own footprints.

P.S. “You have a voice … use it for the good of all.”  Theresa H Hall


10 thoughts on “Making My Own Footprints

    • Sofia, I am glad you liked my story. Blogging brings out the chaos and shapes it into something refined. It’s very good not to allow thoughts to keep floating about our heads. 🙂

  1. Dear dear Frank, I am pleased you have shared so many of my posts and yes, it has been an amazing journey thus far, with the hopes of good fortune to pull me to the top of the mountain. I’ll enjoy seeing the world from a higher perspective. 🙂

  2. Loved your odyssey through the blogosphere. What a busy and productive four years you’ve had! Thank you for sharing the blessing that is Theresa with us.

  3. Hi Theresa,
    Congrats! on your 5th year of blogging. I enjoyed reading about your article recounbting the early days of your sojourn into blogging.

    I’m in my 6th year (almost 7th) of blogging. I began with a private journal blog that I still keep. I’m currently celebrating my 5th year here at wordpress.com.

    Long may you blog. 🙂

  4. Hi Theresa! Thanks for your comment at BC which I found at the bottom of my profile page. This is the first of its kind that I’ve received 🙂

    Congratulations on your 5th Blogger Birthday! I enjoyed reading about your journey and especially about how you decided to live life on your terms! I too am on a similar journey.

    I shall continue to drop by to virtually sample your many talents 🙂

Leave a Reply

