Approaching 2011

I have decided to release myself into this impending year without protest and without preconceived ideas of what the future holds. I have come to understand that when I try to direct my course, or force it, it can become elusive. Now I am not touting the fact that I or anyone should not have goals. This is not the point. The thing is … I’m going to try something new and  freeing. I fully intend to approach 2011 with the abandon to my own innermost spirit. I shall close my eyes and embrace the beat of the second-hand, the thrill of the wind and the cleansing of the rains. I will allow myself the private dance inside my head and come what may, I plan on enjoying whatever direction it my lead.

Through the years I have found much resolve in biding my time … waiting for something and in anticipation of things that sometimes do not ever arrive. I chastise myself and while learning valuable lessons, I find I have a tendency to respond with repeat performances. By changing my thinking and instead of biting my tongue, I want to liberate my thoughts and permit them to unfold in whichever creative way they want. Without censure. That sounds delicious and exciting, for my thoughts are vastly wild at times and I might surprise you with the levity of no-holds-bared and edgy parameters, too.

Besides the fact that I adore all of the things I have shared with you thus far, I have limited myself in the most profound ways. Censure is the reigning in of those things we might not want others to know we consider. Things not spoken. Were I to have a five minute spot on a weekly show such as 60 Minutes, I would get riled up and lofty as Andy Rooney does during his spotlight. He highlights whatever is in his mind and I have decided to do likewise. What a fine example he is to us. The price of freedom shouldn’t be in the way I monitor my thinking and as 2011 unfolds I shall close my eyes and dance to my own music.

Happy New Year to one and all and may you embrace change.

About Theresa H Hall

As a professional vocalist. licensed broadcaster, artist, published poet, lyricist, writer, essayist, critic, animal lover and budding pastr View all posts by Theresa H Hall

10 responses to “Approaching 2011

Leave a Reply

