My Dream In A Dream

I fell asleep

As if my dream

Was in a dream

And all about me

There were hues

Of greens and blues

 

In earnest I walked

As quickly as I could

Keeping away from

The edge of the cliffs

The ocean sparkled

Smiling fish swam by

 

I cast my hope upon waves

Which crested

Covered with white foam

My boat now gliding

Across the sea

I was not alone

 

Overhead there flew a gull

Who winked at me and asked

Where I was bound

I tried to recall

Just where that was

As I lay down

 

The night grew dark

And stars overhead

Twinkled to guide me

Along my journey

I was on my way

To meet you

 

Upon dry land

I walked for days

To find myself

Outside a gate

I knocked but

No one answered

 

October 31, 2010

October 31, 2010

7 thoughts on “My Dream In A Dream

  1. Lovely, lovely, lovely. It’s an absolute dream of a poem. You hit the ball right out of the park with this one! Lovely ending, too.

  2. The poem reads like a dream, flowing–floating–from image to image. Well done, Theresa!

    I like it a lot, including the twist at the ending.

    I’ve been reading “Women Who Run with the Wolves” and so much of it is about the imagery of dreams, fairy tales, and parables.

    “As if my dream was in a dream…” How I love that line!

  3. I agree with all the above, esp. the way you are carried through so swiftly, encouraging for a re-read. I don’t know you well enough to even speculate about the meaning to you. I think that’s what makes art, art: It speaks to everyone differently.

    When I first read the title, I thought of last night–the first time I literally dreamed a dream, so I took your poem that way. On the reread, I saw how many different ways that can be taken.

    Very glad I stopped by today. Sweet tides!

Leave a Reply

