Avocados

I remember the very first time I ever tasted this fruit. I was at my friends home and we had been outside in her backyard sunning and sitting with her young daughters, in their swimming pool.  We went into her kitchen and she put together a green salad, tomatoes and scoops of this green food. I watched as she peeled, removed the skin and sliced even portions into the salad bowl. The colors complimented and I asked her what it was. When she told me I accepted the slice and tasted it slowly. It was a new food adventure for me, at that time, and I immediately loved its nutty, smooth, green flavor. Avocados is a rather apt name for this luscious green and pale yellow food. That began my love affair with avocados.

They grow on trees and come in a number of varieties. I like the California ones the best. They come with a dark deep greenish-black exterior and are ready to eat, when the can be pushed on the outside and the outer skin goes in just slightly. Never cut them when they are hard as they are not edible. They must be just ripe and too ripe is a mistake! Never too soft and mushy, ugh! Most of the time I split them in half, remove the pit and turn it face up. I pour in olive oil, sprinkle sea salt and ground pepper, grab my spoon and enjoy.

7 thoughts on “Avocados

  1. Hmmm I love avocados, like any good Mexican does, jajaaja. I use them in a variety of things but I can just put some slices on a warm corn tortilla, add salt and lime juice, yummy!

    • Beth, id she have the one where the avocado was big and tear-drop shaped? I find those to more fluid than I like. But you are correct about getting to the prize. My grandparents had a rubber tree right outside their trailer in Miami, Florida … back in the day. 😀

  2. I love guacamole. Every now and then I make a perfect one but sometimes it is just kinda icky.

    I’ve never tried them just sliced.

    I’ll have to :).

    Dow.

  3. I love avocados, and you’re so right. They do have a rather nutty flavor. They’re wonderful in salads, guac, sandwiches, or just as you described, right out of their hardy green rinds. It’s great that they’re good for you, too. The best of both worlds!

Leave a Reply

