Proof Positive

022 Budding Tulips , originally uploaded by vsorathia.

Yesterday I visited a small statue of Saint Francis, that is in the gardens at my parish church. Just two weeks ago he was covered almost completely, only his head and one shoulder was peeping out. St. Francis is the patron saint of animals and because I have a deep affection for my kitties and the ones we help rescue, not to mention the ladies that care for them, I thank him for his intercession.

On the last day of February the snows had receded and the statue was pretty much uncovered. While I looked about I spied tulip stalks. They were at least eight inches high and in a group. Wow. All the while the snows and winds and ice are covering thins up, beneath the soil there is activity and growing and organization of what is soon to be our freshest season. Spring.

Oh how I wished I had taken my camera with me, but no matter, this photograph captures the gist of my story. Proof positive that spring is here and winter is on it’s way out. Good-bye Winter!

What’s the old saying? “In like a lion out like a lamb or, in like a lamb, out like a lion”. We’ll see. Today is a sunny, mild 50º (yes) and I feel the doldrums slipping away. I might even go for a walk.

Here is the Prayer of Saint Francis

“O Lord, make me an instrument of Thy Peace!
Where there is hatred, let me sow love;
Where there is injury, pardon;
Where there is discord, harmony;
Where there is doubt, faith;
Where there is despair, hope;
Where there is darkness, light, and
Where there is sorrow, joy.
Oh Divine Master, grant that I may not
so much seek to be consoled as to console;
to be understood as to understand; to be loved
as to love; for it is in giving that we receive;
It is in pardoning that we are pardoned;
and it is in dying that we are born to Eternal Life.”

About Theresa H Hall

As a professional vocalist. licensed broadcaster, artist, published poet, lyricist, writer, essayist, critic, animal lover and budding pastr View all posts by Theresa H Hall

2 responses to “Proof Positive

  • ladygourmet

    Dear Theresa, Glad to hear that spring is peeking through. I have noticed that the days are much longer and I know that the beautiful weather is just around the corner. I haven’t minded the snow all that much. I know I will long to make a snow angel when the first heat wave passes through. I was so comforted to see the prayer to Saint Francis. He has heard my prayers more than once to help my little doggies when they weren’t feeling well and my thanks for His help. Blessings, Catherine

  • soulmerlin

    Yes…I saw the first snowdrops a few weeks ago, peeking out of the snow, just like little white pencil points. Now there large and look like small white lanterns.

    The evenings are still frosty, but the days (like this morning) are such a relief after so much hard weather

    xhenry

Leave a Reply

