Sleepless Nights

slightly out of Time, originally uploaded by ariel brearly.

I find it hard to sleep at night, since the earthquake in Haiti two weeks ago. My mind wanders to those lying still beneath the rubble of homes and buildings. I wonder if they, who are still alive, can hear our thoughts and prayers said for their benefit.

I find it hard to dismiss these thoughts, because someone might be praying to be heard by anyone who might be able to hear them in their hearts, or see them in their minds-eye. I ask for them to be saved and to hold on in case there are those up above, who have not given up hope of finding more survivors.

Even though the Haitian government has called a halt to the rescue missions, what if they are wrong? I saw the palace lying in ruins and I hope they will never resurrect it. Not unless they are willing to lift up their citizens. Not unless they invite them to enter in. The Haitian people need someone uncorrupt, and a government that will work for and not against them.

I find it hard to sleep. Does anyone else? Please donate and pray for our neighbors who need our help so very much.

About Theresa H Hall

As a professional vocalist. licensed broadcaster, artist, published poet, lyricist, writer, essayist, critic, animal lover and budding pastr View all posts by Theresa H Hall

2 responses to “Sleepless Nights

  • pacificmelody

    Theresa, you’ve always had the biggest heart of anyone I know. You must keep faith that Divine Order is, as always, in operation here. The ones who didn’t make it through are in God’s hands now and safe for all time. Hold onto that.

  • Theresa111

    Thanks for your words. I wish I didn’t worry so. I bless all of these fine souls.

Leave a Reply

