Something For Us To Do

It’s Sunday morning and I just found a new blog called “Old Digger,” created by Margaret Cloud. This photo is her with her husband, Charles. Her most recent post, Honoring the Homeless,” made me pause to learn more than I thought I already new about this dire situation. I urge all of my readers to take four minutes, right now, and really read what she has to say. You know the old adage, when we join together and work as a unit, we really do make a difference.

Here is my response to her post:

Your post came at an appropriate time, when most of the world has celebrated the holiday season. I pray many times throughout the day, because there is such a desperate need for prayers to be answered.

We tithe regularly, and a major portion goes toward Catholic Charities, who are forever helping the needy. We did animal rescue for years and still feed homeless kitties. We give to the poor and homeless, and even helped a child have a cleft palate operation. We donate to preserve our wildlife and the environment.

After reading your post, you have impressed a new reason for us, as a country, to try to figure out how we can help more. How we can do something in our towns. We live in the Washington, DC metro area, and I just do not understand how … after being such an enlightened country during the second half of the last century, that the situation of our beloved country has come to this pass.

Thank you for writing this because I look on it as a gift, the voice of an angel calling out, to be not only listened to, but to be heard.

About Theresa H Hall

As a professional vocalist. licensed broadcaster, artist, published poet, lyricist, writer, essayist, critic, animal lover and budding pastr View all posts by Theresa H Hall

6 responses to “Something For Us To Do

  • Corinne Rodrigues

    Thanks for sharing this. So much to think about especially living in India as I do.
    Take care.
    C

  • Daisy the Curly Cat

    If we only put ourselves in their shoes for just one night, I think we would all have much more compassion.

  • Quiet Waters Rise

    Thank you very much for sharing. I did go to “Old Digger” and read her wonderful post. It really made me think as well. This is the response that I left on her post:

    Hello Margaret. I have come here upon the recommendation from Theresa111’s blog, and have to say that your post sincerely moved me.

    What you have said is so very true and I agree with Theresa, that you are an angel, calling out to the world with this very important issue.

    It makes you realize, for one, to be thankful for what we have and also to realize what impact that we could make as a country, as a society, if only we all would help.

    I know that times are tough for many people in our country right now, but there are so many with luxuries or even the little extras that we could do without. Would I rather go to a salon to have my nails done or see a movie in a theater? Or would I rather know that I was able to help provide a meal and warm shelter for somebody without.

    As a very wise man once said, “Be the change you want to see in the world”

    Begin with yourself, which you have so beautifully done, and that will create ripples of the same.

    Thank you so much for this wonderful post.

  • olddigger

    I want to thank you for your kind comments and for putting it on your blog. Yes we are facing a crisis here and actually every where for the people that have no home, we need to pull together.

  • ladygourmet

    I read the post and found it very troubling that this has come to such great numbers in this great country of ours. I will keep these people and our country in my prayers.

  • Theresa111

    Such beautiful people who have responded. lets continue to pass this post along so others may not only read it here but the responses and add some of their own. Together we can achieve more.

Leave a Reply

