My Very First Cast Iron Skillet

First, let me thank my husband for his generosity in giving me something that I have been wanting for years. Do I understand why I haven’t gotten one before this, and it could be because a lot of Half Hour Meals members have one and they shared interesting recipes. It must have gone on my Santa’s list.

I am excited to try Tart Tartan, which is a classic French dessert, which ends up being finished in the oven. So this skillet will be a perfect fit.

I understand that even though the skillet says it is pre-seasoned, that it should undergo another initiation so it is done properly. We are going to our friend’s home tonight for dinner, and Rick and Sandi will know precisely what to do. I will add the instructions later. Bon Appetit!

Here is an entire article devoted to seasoning your cast iron skillet. It is interesting.

3 thoughts on “My Very First Cast Iron Skillet

  1. Hey you! They are for even cooking and can be used for almost any type of dish. In the olden days, a cast iron pot or kettle and skillet were the only cooking items people used, over the flames to cook with.

Leave a Reply

