Rachael Started It!

mail-2 mail-3mail

Beautiful Rachael @ a friends wedding

In September, my fabulous niece Rachael stopped by one afternoon to visit. While she and I talked she asked me if I would care to see her vegetables from the garden she had tilled over the summer months. I readily agreed and she pulled out her iPhone. Picture after picture of magically grown garden vegetables! You do realize that they once began as seeds. I find it such a cool idea; growing one’s own fruits and vegetables.

She told me she and her friends had gotten together and prepared some preserves. I do not now recall what is inside of these jars, but I am certain it is yummy.

This is what started me to thinking, that while I do not grow the edible delights I could bring some home from my shopping and give it a go. Now after I got into reading more, I do know that I have prepared compotes at the hotel pastry kitchen, when I was there, but they were for immediate use and not to be stored up for a later use.

My husband and I explored the state of the art public library, he sitting in the magazine section, and I on my knees in the cooking isles. After many books I decided to choose two.

DSCN3505 and DSCN3499I bought some of these $1.19 jars, and today … I preserved for the very first time. DSCN3518 Come on over to Half Hour Meals and hang out for Saturday’s Event Canning and Preserving.

DSCN3578

DSCN3594

About Theresa H Hall

As a professional vocalist. licensed broadcaster, artist, published poet, lyricist, writer, essayist, critic, animal lover and budding pastr View all posts by Theresa H Hall

One response to “Rachael Started It!

Leave a Reply

