The Tree’s Communion

 

winter in our garden, originally uploaded by state_of_mind13.
~~~

When I awoke this morning

I felt my skin was tight

And colder than usual

Sniffing I could tell

The late Autumn air

Had a crisp but wet flavor

My arms felt heavier then

When I had gone to sleep

~~~

Wide awake now

I looked across the garden

To see brilliant white snow

Blanketing the branches

Of my closest neighbor

I examined my own branches

To find I had been thusly adorned

~~~

A smile crept up my wooden body

A hint of cedar rose up

To entwine the snow filled air

There was a small bite of

Wind surrounding us

~~~

I stretched my limbs

To touch my neighboring tree

We were comforted that we

Were to share another winter

The touch of our boughs

Was a communion of love

 

Edited August 22, 2014

by: Theresa H Hall

All rights 2014

5 thoughts on “The Tree’s Communion

Leave a Reply

