Manhattan from Staten Island

Manhattan from Staten Island, originally uploaded by Theresa111.

Thank you to whomever took this photograph, as I did not.

This is the view I had to enjoy while sitting on the steps leading to my home at 42 Nicholas Street, on Staten Island, New York. I also attended St. Peter’s Roman Catholic Church and Parochial School, for first grade and half of second grade.Afterward, my parents moved our family to Miami, Florida, where we stayed for a year and one-half. The summer I turned nine we moved to Bethesda, Maryland and have been Washington, DC metropolitan area residents ever since.

Most certainly, I have never been the same. No other city has touched me in the same way. Manhattan skyline is a visual beauty, a gem surrounded by changing waters and skies. The tangy salty sea air was invigorating and always seemed to sweep away any concerns. I promised myself to return someday.

Each time I share with my husband that I long to return to the place I love the most, he tells me that it doesn’t seem like a great idea. I think it would be ideal. I mean … look at this magnificent view! It is one of the most inspirational I have ever beheld and it is as if the strings of my heart are plucked and it sings for joy.

Perhaps I shall spend a week there at a bed and breakfast to make a decision. If I feel the true desire to live there after that, then I shall simply have to convince him that he too will love New York.

One thought on “Manhattan from Staten Island

Leave a Reply

