DVD Movie Review “The Devil Wears Prada”

DVD Movie Review, originally uploaded by Theresa111.

I have plugged this movie in quite a few times to catch what I didn’t take in the other times I watched. Even though I get sidetracked looking at Anne Hathaway’s big eyes and indomitable spirit, I am riveted my Meryl Streep’s portrayal of her role as Miranda.

Her carriage, her telling looks, she is a matriarchal mauler of employees.  Her seemingly impervious demeanor implies that she is all-knowing and she cares not a bit for an opinion not her own.

Miranda, Editor in Chief of Runway Magazine is a fashion-plate.  And for not being a model, Ms. Streep looks as good as any of them. She is poised, polished and in charge. This DVD is a must see.

Ever since I first saw her in “Sophie’s Choice” I have loved her acting. This was a movie where she had to make an insanely impossible choice. Choose which of her children would live and which would die, during Natzi driven Germany.

Meryl Streep is fascinating to watch. Her beauty is refreshing and the delivery of her lines only emphasizes her art. Her voice resonates in your ears.  You drink her with your eyes.  She is a consummate actor.

7 thoughts on “DVD Movie Review “The Devil Wears Prada”

  1. i have never seen this one,,,, but sophies choice is one of the best movies i have ever seen… i would watch it over and over again…..

  2. I am a devoted fan of Meryl Streep.
    She is an actress of the highest order.
    Utterly convincing, wholly believable, she appears infinitely adaptable to any role she assumes.

    I thought she was breathtaking in The Devil Wears Prada.

  3. Paisley……Her role as Sophie undid me each time I saw it. I hated the subject but it was too hard not to watch her every move and the torment she exuded from each expression.

    Momof2ballerinas……Whtt a time you will have. This is a fun high fashion movie with a simple but thrilling woman’s movie. So much beauty in one place. Enjoy.

    Minx……Are you back from party land? Hope you had a grand time. Meryl is a wonder to watch and I would gladly pay more to see a movie, just because she was in the cast. I really loved this movie. Two Thumbs Up!

  4. Theresa, That’s a beautifully written review. I really loved that movie and you hit it on the nail head! Plus I wanted to tell you that I like the apple!

    Ann

  5. Pingback: Acting Tips

Leave a Reply

