Creme Brulee…while it’s being torched…Do you see the flame?

Creme Brulee

This is one of the most satisfying desserts ever. The creaminess of the custard and the crunch of the caramelized sugar is fantastic. Top with some fresh fruit and wow!

2 c heavy cream (hot, but don’t boil)
4 egg yolks
2 1/2 oz sugar
flavorings: (extracts, coffee beans, zest, etc., after infusion, strain & remeasure the liquid)

1) Heat heavy cream, but not too hot.
2) Mix yolks and sugar together and temper with warmed liquid.
3) Fill au gratin dishes 3/4 full.
4) Prepare water bath.

Bake 325º 20 to 30 minutes. Cool and remove dishes. Refrigerate.

Serve by filling the top of the dishes with sugar white or brown and torching it.

Yield is eight servings.

About Theresa H Hall

As a professional vocalist. licensed broadcaster, artist, published poet, lyricist, writer, essayist, critic, animal lover and budding pastr View all posts by Theresa H Hall

7 responses to “Creme Brulee…while it’s being torched…Do you see the flame?

  • skdd

    This is a simple custard poured into a ramekin and baked in a bain marie, a water bath then baked at low heat. After it is cooled, sugar on top and blow-torched! One of my absolute favorites! The best can be tapped with your spoon and when you break through the sugary top you discover the creamy and smooth delights within. Bon Appetit!

    Domestic Minx…This one’s for you!

  • sweat1951

    Good grief! I found your link at Copywrite Ink & came over here to see what it was. There in front of me is my very favorite Creme Brulee! My mouth is watering.

    I love this whole site! Thanks.

  • skdd

    Wow. I am still tweaking this and you popped up out of nowhere. Well…hello. Yes, I am in the infant stages of learning how to upload and make it look the most appealing. any suggestions?

  • dharmagypsy7

    Oh yum.. love Creme Brulee… looks absolutely delicious 🙂

  • thedomesticminx

    Oh how heavenly!!!

    This is my absolutely favourite dessert.
    There is a divine and ritualistic pleasure with it from start to finish.

    Thank you darling Theresa.
    Now I only need you to pop over with a couple of them in your possession so we can feast on them together.

    Yummmmmm….

    xx

  • skdd

    That’s a big jump across the pond. When I finally get to visit, I will make it fresh and torch it a la minute`. You are so sweet.

  • billblunt

    Oh, my, I do hope Domestic Minx doesn’t scoff all this herself! Creme Brulee were one of my favourite bands from the 1970’s / 1980’s, and I was always pleased that their contribution to music was honoured by a dessert being named after them.

Leave a Reply

