How Do You Self-Soothe?

"Photograph by Kevin Friery"

“Photograph by Kevin Friery”

Seldom do we ever get to turn off our internal voice. I have found a way to quiet mine using a fun distraction. I play solitary games. It calms my thinking when I concentrate and it lowers the blood pressure, too. By taking time to chill out, I find the respite I need in order to self-soothe. My inner voice takes a  seat on the sidelines. Doing this once a day enables me to clear my mind so I may have sparkling clarity toward any task I need to do.

A micro vacation for the brain is quite effective when done intentionally and properly. Lending our attention to solving a puzzle is truly a non-pharmaceutical medicine for our  psychological well-being. I use Mahjong and Sudoku as my choice of therapies.

How do you self-soothe your inner voice?

Copyright © 2013 “Sleeping Kitten – Dancing Dog!” All rights reserved.

7 thoughts on “How Do You Self-Soothe?

  1. I like to listen to music and have a good dance and purposely not do any of the mundane things I do everyday. I also will turn off my mobile phone, not answer the landline or front door. That way, it’s just me having a good time without interference.

Leave a Reply

