Ballerina Down Downtown

ballerinaintherainbytizianotomajune142009flickr4533849551_37d8b29d2c_z

~~~

City lights surround

The stage set with a

Cast of three dancers

Ballerina down downtown

Transfixed I watch as your hand

Gracefully plays across imagined

Waves etched within the

Air around you

Ballerina down downtown

~~~

You lift your arms effortlessly

Reaching up as heavy drops of rain

Pound their rhythmic

Splashes of song

Ballerina down downtown

Two male dancers lift and

Pass you to-and-fro

Your slim body

Embraces the quickening beat

Ballerina down downtown

~~~

Rain pelts down even harder

Wet concrete

Wet stage

You dance anyway

Expressive movements are

Watched by all seated

Underneath colored umbrellas

Ballerina wearing a crown

Ballerina down downtown

~~~

We marvel at the excellent

Steps and beautifully arched bodies

Intertwining beneath

The cloudy night sky

Droplets of  shimmering rain 

Cascade across your bodies

Soaking costumes

To plaster themselves to the wearer

Ballerina down downtown

~~~

 Strings of guitar and violin

Accompany perfectly pitched flute notes

And piano chords

A true ensemble of artist love

Interpreted through hands

Of like-minded musicians

Together the dancers convey

Heartfelt harmony 

As they end their dance

Beneath city lights

The life-giving rain

They quietly bow

Before their applauding audience 

Ballerina down downtown

 

by Theresa H Hall

@2 p.m. 08-15-13

Copyright © 2013 “Sleeping Kitten – Dancing Dog!” All rights reserved.

18 thoughts on “Ballerina Down Downtown

    • Frank,

      Glad you enjoyed this as much as I did writing it. It quite literally spilled out of me. I was inspired by similar type scenes from two movies. The first features Neve Campbell, dancing outdoors at night during a thunderstorm in the production of, “The Company” http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0335013/ . The second starred Matt Damon and Emily Blunt. She dances with two male dancers in the movie, “The Adjustment Bureau” http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1385826/ .

      Yesterday I was listening to Soundscapes Channel 434 on COMCAST Xfinity T.V., when the sudden urge to compose struck me. I described many of the parts that came to me from my memories. Joe read them about an hour ago and he agrees that they would be good song lyrics. He and I have been working on his new songs for a while and this seems like a gift from above. Inspiration is such a sweet lady.

  1. I really enjoyed this Theresa because I able to visualize the whole dance in my mind and I also loved the picture you used because it sets off the poem perfectly. I feel like doing a little ballet myself right now, after reading this, but it might be best if I stick to watching the professionals doing what they have been trained for. Brilliant post mate.

  2. Theresa, in your poem you capture the pure enchantment of the dance. How transfixed the artist becomes to her art. “O body swayed to music, O brightening glance/How can you know the dancer from the dance?”

  3. Beautiful! Thanks for bringing this to my attention. You really capture the sense and love of movement with your words. I agree it would make great song lyrics. And a song for a dance. :)

  4. Katie,

    Thank you … I am so pleased you made the connection. Most likely being a dancer you felt it all the more. Next time leave another space in between the last typed letter and the (:D) so the smiley face will appear. I’ll fix yours. Nice day.

Leave a Reply

